Divine Revelation

A blog with an Islamic perspective

Tuesday, September 19, 2006
The 5 Pillars of Islam
The 5 pillars of Islam are:

1) giving the Shahada (evidence) i.e. reciting the Kalima (words) "ash hadu al la ilaha il lal lah wa ash hadu anna Muhammadar rasoolullah" ( I testify that there is no God except Allah and I testify that Muhammad (peace be upon him) is the messenger of Allah"

2) Salat (prayer or what in subcontinent is called Namaz). Every Muslim is obliged to pray to Allah 5 times a day. The timings being 1) Fajar (dawn before sunrise) 2) Zohar (afternoon) 3) Asar (late afternoon) 4) Maghrib(just after sunset) 5) Esha (night)

3) Saum (Fast or Roza) i.e fasting for the month in the month of Ramadhan from dawn to dusk and refrain from food water and other permissible things...

4)Zakat (poor due) every Muslim who has wealth beyond a certain defined limit is obliged to give part of that to the poor and needy

5) Hajj (pilgrimage) visit to Mecca. This is obligatory only if one can afford it.
Further reading on the same topic click the numbers below
(1) (2)


K.Venugopal Tuesday, September 19, 2006 9:06:19 AM
My questions:1. Why this evidence giving? Is this a proclamation of loyalty not just to God but to his messenger also? Kings require loyalty otherwise their throne is threatened. But God?2. Prayer is fine. But why at prescribed times and prescribed numbers? This smacks of regimentation. Religion ought to be an individual affair. But with Islam it is community based. Is this why Islam also has a political element in it, unlike other religions?3. Fasting is great. But on general observation, the non-Muslim could easily conclude that it is fasting day-time and feasting night-time. And then await the goats after it all.4. Zakat, giving to the poor and needy is fantastic. But let us hope at least in heaven there would be no poor and needy so that Zakat can be done away with.5. Hajj. As a Hindu I too wish I could take part in such a pilgrimage, for it is so much like an Hindu pilgrimage. Let us hope the doors of Mecca will one day be thrown open to all, unconditionally.

Shahul Tuesday, September 19, 2006 11:18:18 AM
Hi Mr. K.Venugopal this is for you.1. Check the meaning of 'Loyalty' which is 'devotion'. Any religion working Supreme power which talks about devotion.Well, what does Gayatri Mantra says??We meditate on the glory of the Creator(OM represents Brahma); Who has created the Universe;Who is worthy of Worship; Who is the embodiment of Knowledge and Light; Who is the remover of all Sin and Ignorance; May He enlighten our Intellect.And, what does Al-fatiha says in islam??1:1 In the name of GOD, the Most Merciful, the Ever Merciful:1:2 Praise be to God, the Lord of the Universe.1:3 The Most Merciful, the Ever Merciful.1:4 Master of the Day of Judgment.1:5 You alone we worship. You alone we ask for help.1:6 Guide us on the right path;1:7 the path of those whom You have blessed, not of those who have deserved wrath, nor of the strayers.Do you find any small difference in those verses????

K. Venugopal Wednesday, September 20, 2006 12:01:13 AM
Dear Shahul,I do not see any difference whatsoever in the two verses you have quoted. Why should there be any difference? Both are expressions of the deepest awe for the wonder that is creation and the mystique that is the creator. Would all your Muslim friends agree that there is no difference? Would they thereby conclude that there is no difference between different religious expressions? Would they thus, in a moment of enlightenment, cease to say that Islam is a unique religion and that great truths were expressed even before Mohammad trod the earth?Incidentally, can you please enlighten me as to whether the Day of Judgement is actually a single day or whether it denotes the day that each one faces upon death, thus there being as many days of Judgement as there are deaths?Meanwhile, I congratulate you for seeing unity in diversity.

Posted by Arshad on Saturday, February 03, 2007.

0 Responses to “”

Post a Comment